Fallas footnotes:* flowers and flames


Lori Notes

Throughout Valencia this week an enormous crew of cleaners has been methodically sweeping up all kinds of detritus–spent firecracker remains, broken glass, ashes, and confetti. I’ve got a few odds and ends to clean up as well, like a post or two that I intended to bring to you about Las Fallas.

There’s so much going on for Las Fallas that it always feels to me like I can either go out and see things or I can talk about all the things, but there isn’t time to do both. I try to strike a balance. So far this month I’ve brought you thesethreeposts about this all-consuming festival. Before I leave it, I’ll include some photos of L’Ofrena, the offering of amazing floral arrangements brought by various celebrants to honor the Virgin of the Destitute,† as well as some video of La Cremà, the late-night burning of the…

View original post 478 more words

About agogo22

Director of Manchester School of Samba at http://www.sambaman.org.uk
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

