Breaking Esterotypes: Brazilian Carnival


Debora Wolf | Fashion Stylist | Produtora de Moda

 : Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

I remember one of my very first experiences when I came to New York few years ago. I don’t know the year, but it was February.  How did I know? It was Carnival in Brazil, my homeland and people were surprised why I was here in New York City, during this amazing Brazilian festival. My worse experience, when I felt tremendous shy was when a cashier at Victoria’s Secret asked where I came from. When I said Brazil, she pretend to copy a kind of samba, a Brazilian rhythm very popular during carnival days.

Let’s break some myths about this colorful holiday that stop Brazil. First at all, a big number of Brazilians don’t like the traditional Carnival’s party. They like the 4 days that is national holiday to travel and because it is in the middle of summer, the most popular destination are the beaches…

View original post 1,001 more words

About agogo22

Director of Manchester School of Samba at http://www.sambaman.org.uk
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

