How to be labelled ´pobre´in Brazil


Sakerinha

I never exactly had myself down as being all fancy and la-di-da, but since moving to Brazil, I´ve been told ´você parece pobre´ (‘you seem poor´) on numerous occasions. It appears that various innocent actions can attract a whole load of judgement and snobbery. Here are a few examples that I´ve experienced:

images-6Beach picnic

I once suggested to friends that we take a picnic to the beach, but they advised me that we just couldn´t do that. I initially thought this was from a practical point of view because sandy sandwiches are certainly not fun. No, it´s because you need to buy food from one of the cafe´s because otherwise you look poor. Apparently a picnic in the park is just about acceptable, but the beach, NO, absolutely not. Even if the picnic contains caviar and champagne, just no.

images-7Free calendars

Ever received a free calendar from a company as promotional material? I´m not much…

View original post 600 more words

About agogo22

Director of Manchester School of Samba at http://www.sambaman.org.uk
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

