Think Twice About Ice


The Great Blue

Ice. How can something so simple like ice be something so cultural?

I was at a restaurant the other day with an American friend of mine, and we were discussing her study abroad experience in Spain. She told me about all the things I could do in my up-coming trip to Spain. We talked about how different cultures are, especially American and Spanish. She said her experience abroad definitely made her become more interested and aware of different cultures.

As we readied ourselves to leave, I eyed my drink on the table and wrinkled my nose in distaste. I had ordered a coke, and, now, all that was left was basically a third cup of ice and super watery brown liquid.

At that moment memories of my Brazilian grandmother asking for no ice her drinks at American restaurants popped into my head. I have grown accustomed to living in two…

View original post 188 more words

About agogo22

Director of Manchester School of Samba at http://www.sambaman.org.uk
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

