The Messages From Brazil’s Streets


The Cosmotropics

I must admit that I didn’t hang around many demonstrations (or protest-events of any political inclination) when I lived in Brazil, from January to June of this year. And there were enough to spare, many organized in reaction to the current presidential crisis. During my first months, I wouldn’t go because I still didn’t really know São Paulo, the issues at hand, or a Brazilian willing to accompany and guide me. Months later, two threats kept me away: the possibility of police repression and of (my) deportation—I didn’t hear of any foreigner deported for such a reason, but that’s no reason to be the pendeja who risks it.

However, a lot of Brazilians and Non-Brazilians would advise me to go anyway, to “observe” this “fascinating” moment in Brazilian history; according to them, I could stay far away and (without posters or shirt of certain colors) look, leave, and that’s it. But this…

View original post 449 more words

About agogo22

Director of Manchester School of Samba at http://www.sambaman.org.uk
Gallery | This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

