Originally posted on Digital Cultures & Translation:

I’ve been wanting to write about my experiences translating sci-fi, a genre that I find myself very drawn to. But, as always, I have digressed, and now, I think this is turning to be a brief series on various sci-fi sub-genres and their fictional visions of the world we live. I can’t really help it, sorry, (I’ll get to the translation part of it),  I’ve always loved sci-fi, since little. It started with Logan’s Run. I remember being mystified at the age of 8 or 9 by fugitive law enforcer Logan 5 and the incredibly beautiful escapee Jessica 6 running for their lives in this 1976 adaptation of the  novel by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson. Yes, New York Times critics didn’t seem to get “why and for what particular purpose Logan makes his run” and felt “two hours of this stuff” was quite enough for…

View original 1,515 more words

About agogo22

Director of Manchester School of Samba at http://www.sambaman.org.uk
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Pingback: On the Shoulders of Giants – British low-budget sci-fi « Camden Script Analysis

  2. Pingback: Dystopian Societies in Literature and Our Complicit lives « A Spoonful of Suga

Leave a Reply

